On acting out my thoughts

So, I have this habit where I am so deep in an interesting thought that I don’t realize I am acting out my feelings until it’s too late. Subconsciously, I am making weird faces. Sometimes in public. What kind of faces, you ask? Well, allow me to elaborate.

Imagine you are in the train and you can’t stop thinking about the surprise party or whatever you are planning for a friend. And you’re so caught up in your thoughts that you start making happy/amused/smiley faces and you aren’t aware of it till you make eye contact with the person opposite you, and they look away quickly with an awkward/thegirlorguyiscrazy expression. And the rest of the journey goes by trying to avoid eye contact.

Yeah, it’s awkward. Really awkward. And you can’t just go up and start explaining that you are not crazy. That’s exactly what a crazy person would do anyways. And no. Luckily, I didn’t have to face this situation in a train where there is no escape. It just seems like a worst case scenario. But similar situations happened and they were awkward.

I am sure I am not the only person who does this, therefore, I want to help all those people who can relate to this by sharing what I would do to make the situation less awkward and make the world a better place!

There has been like thousands of time I got caught by my mum and sister doing this. Just because they are my family doesn’t make the situation any less awkward. Besides, they already think I need help. So, what I do is blurt out a joke and get away with it. It doesn’t matter if the joke is lame. It will divert their attention away from the crazy face you were making.

If you are caught in public and luckily had your phone on your hand, just start ‘texting back’. You don’t need to light up the screen and actually text back, just tap with both of your thumbs on your blank screen repeatedly and hope that nobody is watching. The people will assume you got a funny text or something. And if you don’t have a phone just give them a creepy smile while walking away slowly.

Unfortunately, I can’t think of any other tips to share. Just remember however awkward a situation is, someone somewhere in the world is in an even worse situation. If that’s not comforting enough just remember that I exist.

Warning: The strategies mentioned may backfire.

1 thought on “On acting out my thoughts”

  1. LOL…it’s a good post…I don’t know about others…but I do this very often…and get caught by strangers…but I never give shit what they will think about my expressions…enjoyed reading it though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

