The Lunar Chronicles By Marissa Meyer

Fairy tales are one of those things that are considered to be all time favourites by almost everyone. So, when I heard that The Lunar Chronicles are inspired by fairy tales, I headed straight to read its synopsis and reviews. I wanted to find out whether it would be pointless romance without a solid plot or something worth reading.

There were loads of positive reviews. I cannot remember reading a negative one, to be honest. I ended up thinking it was overhyped but probably enjoyable and ordered Cinder.

Let me just tell you, it was money worth spending and time worth giving. It is quite a fast paced book. The plot is absolutely mind blowing, although, the twist in Cinder was slightly predictable. I enjoyed reading the first two books very much and now I am scared of reading the third one (Cress) because I don’t want to wait for Winter which is coming out in November.

Cinder is the retelling of Cinderella. Scarlet is the retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. Cress is the retelling of Rapunzel. A sci-fi retelling. Sci-fi and fairytale? Isn’t that an odd combination? As incompatible the combination may sound, trust me, it isn’t.

These books have action, romance, comedy, you name it and it’s there. Marissa Meyer, who is the author of the series, must be an immensely intelligent lady to come up with such brilliant ideas. I cannot wait for Winter to come out, although I am reluctant to read Fairest which is the prequel to the series. I dislike prequels, just my opinion. However, I do think Fairest is going to be enjoyable as well.

One thing that kinda caught my eye is that all of the characters are described as being physically beautiful. In their appearances at least. I mean, I guess it’s a fairy tale so everything is all rainbows and butterflies. But wouldn’t it be great to have more real characters because it’s a book clearly targeted towards teenagers and young adults.

Leave a Reply

