A rather humble book buying spree.

There are two kind of readers in the world: those that own more books than they can ever hope to read and those that don’t. As fate intended, I had to be the latter kind. I do not own a proper bookshelf here in England at the moment (a moment of silence), but my sweet mother told me she is willing to buy one for the home in summer.

Consequently, I have to either buy or borrow books in order to read. I don’t mind it because it means I don’t have any unread books on my ‘shelf.’ (usually) But sometimes, I just feel like spending all my income on a major book buying spree. It will feel so good to just come home with a mountain of books. Sadly, my income won’t allow it.

Anyways, January was good to me. At least, for this part. (How much I wish I could erase the 8 hours of the week I spend working) I got a few books, nothing massive or exciting for the eyes. Although, looking at them makes me feel all warm inside.

Here are all the books I bought to read throughout 2016 (I am going to buy more, incase you couldn’t guess already).

Pride and prejudice by Jane Austen. I am almost at the end of this book and I have only one thing to say: it lives upto the hype! Although, I already know what happens in the book, (I saw the movie and had to read the easy english version of the book in 7th or 8th grade (in Bangladesh for reader class)) I enjoyed it so much. So much, I tell you. I am probably going to write a detailed spoiler free review on it.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Yet again, another classic. I feel proud of myself. I have read the easy english version for reader class during 7th/8th grade. But I am looking forward to reading it because the original is always better. Always.

Seven brief lessons on physics by Carlo Rovelli. I thought it was going to be a chunky book, explaining everything I want to learn about physics (I am a science geek, don’t judge!) But, it is even better. It’s a very short and I mean a very short book that introduces you to the fundamentals of physics. It’s for people who has no clue about physics, which I think is pretty good.

The watcher in the shadows by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Carlos Ruiz Zafon, need I say more? I enjoyed The Shadow Of The Wind so much, I just had to. I honestly don’t know much about this book which is why I got it. When it comes to famous authors, I prefer buying books that I have never heard of. All I know is, it contains: an eerie atmosphere, two lovers, a toy maker, a mansion filled with creepy toys. I don’t know about you but I quite like the sound of that. Besides, who could resist that name: The Watcher In The Shadows.

Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. No comments, moving on!

Station eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. It is a science fiction story. I don’t know much about the plot, but I am looking forward to reading it. That’s just how I like my books. It’s all about the blind love.

Reclaim you heart by Yasmin Mogahed. I am extremely excited to read this book. It’s a ‘self-help’ kind of book and much more. It is about attachments, unhealthy attachments and what truly matters. I am hopefully going to write a full review on it once I am done reading it.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik. It is a pretty famous book, so I don’t think I have to talk about the plot.

These are all the books I have bought in the month of January. If exams and possible life changing events didn’t burden me with anxiety, I would’ve finished reading them long ago.

 

5 thoughts on “A rather humble book buying spree.”

Leave a Reply

