How to be happy?

What exactly is happiness?
Is it a constant state of euphoria
That we feel when our dreams come true?
When our loved ones return home, safe and sound
After a long time, from abroad.
When the bread comes out of the toaster
Golden brown and not charcoal.
When we wake up to the smell of tea
To see strings of sunshine
Pouring through the curtains of our windows.

Or is happiness a feeling too complex
That our minds are too fragile to decode?
Or is it just too simple
That our intricate minds will overlook?
Maybe, it’s the absence of melancholy
And the presence of life.
For the absence of melancholy alone
If you ask me, is an unending state of numbness
That unwittingly tortures our mind and soul.

Serotonin, oxytocin, dopamine, endorphin
Those are the common happy hormones.
Perhaps, complex biological processes
Are the answer to our unknown sorrows.
Although, when we seek out happiness
We don’t pay any heed to those.
So maybe, happiness does stem
From appreciating the little things in life
Including, the occasional blues.

How wonderful it would be
If happiness was an immovable equilibrium
Not complex chemistry.
Maybe, we will never quite grasp
What it means to be truly happy.
But to appreciate the starry universe,
The world needs to be veiled with darkness.
In the same way, as we are told by ghosts of scholars
Over and over again
To be happy means to have a delicate piece of our mind
Drowned in indescribable sadness.

47 thoughts on “How to be happy?”

    1. Awh hahaha, I promise you there’s nothing I have to inspire haha…but I am loving these lovely comments of yours. I appreciate the time you took to write this! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, i am not really the one to throw many complements, so ya you just crossed a level there! Hehe wait.. You meant cry in the good way, right?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I just reread and understood the crossing level thing….now I just feel special hehe you are spoiling me…I am gonna check out your blog when I am done with work!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Umm you know I would’ve said yeyy great pls check it out but then there’s nothing much on it right now, like there are just two posts! But ya you could like check it out if u like like idek what i am saying…

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You see, I am quite intrigued by your comments hehe now I must know more…(it’s not stalking if I tell you I am stalking) I hope I didn’t come off too weird 😅

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh puhleeez i stalk people all the damn time and i can be really weird at times but yeahh thats me! I don’t know how others interpret it💁

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh suree! Though I won’t be able to add you now as i have deleted everything presently coz i have my exams going on, so yaa, sadly! Still i could sneak in, tell me your username or something

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same, got big exams coming up haha. Maybe be after exams you could add me at Humayra Rashid in Facebook (pro pic of me reading a book in a bookshop lol) or at humayra_rashid in insta. Good luck with your exams.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Awesome, thanks. Nah, I am actually Bengali but I was born in London and have a mixture of both values haha. But I more or less know and respect India and its culture.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeahh even i saw a lot of indians here, though this is the longest I’ve chatted with anyone here! My brother went to Durhum 1 year ago for his post grad. Now he is back though, so he told me alot about how beautiful London is, have wanted to visit there since then!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Omg you are quite young! I am over 18 haha. I am afraid I will no longer be using word press for the following 4 months (only to post something if a moment of inspiration hits), so I won’t be able to reply. But it was awesome meeting you and I will see you in fcebook or whatever! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well i did take you to be 17 or something, glad i was close by! Oiii 4 months!! Too much, wl miss you here🙈 and yep will see you on fb or something then!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I, myself am still improving. Anyways, your writing is good! There were some spelling mistakes and like one or two sentences just didn’t flow. But I enjoyed your content and you are only 15! My grammar is still not that great. You will become even better overtime, every time you write. Enjoyed it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for the honest reply, yepp have to edit a lot of things! I seek inspiration from you, no kidding there! Hope to learn a lot from you! Thanks again for reading!😃

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, but trust if you met me you would know I am just like everyone. Which I don’t think is a bad thing haha. Besides, from what I read, you seem quite the inspiring young lady yourself!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hahaha glad you think that way, but the same thing what you said, if you met me , you’d know I’m like everyone !! Guess we are kinda same,huh?😊

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel you,girl! Anyways, it was great chatting with you! Hope to chat with you after well both of ours exams get over! Best of luck for the exams👍🏻 also,one more thing, you kind of really underestimate yourself! You are a wonderful person, just thought you should know that! Okay byee!✨

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Okay, I could not stop myself from replying! (That’s how awesome you are!) Yes, we shall indeed speak after exams. Good luck to you as well! Okay I am out for real now!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hey! I am alright, how have you been? How did your exams go? My exams will start on May! I couldn’t stop myself from blogging but I did stop using social media! Although, I think I might have to block wordpress to stop myself from blogging haha. Great to see you back. x

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ve been good! And even I have exams in May! And yep I can relate! I didn’t blog when I had exams, but well i was reading blogs all the damn time! We don’t really have much self control, right?😅

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yeahh true! Gonna work on the self control part! Anywayss, i added you on insta as it would be better to chat there than flood your comments! 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Okay great! Me too! At the moment I deleted the app from my phone, but once my exams are over and I reinstall it, I shall see you there! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

