On the first Day of Ramadan

It’s that time of the year again. The time when you starve your body and feed your soul. Very cliché, I know. But I like the sound of it, hence I must share it.

It’s Ramadan, basically. I know most of my readers are not Muslim, so here’s a link to a website that explains Ramadan in simple terms. Not any sneaky way of trying to convert anyone, I swear! Just throwing it out there.

I am fasting as I write this. How many times have food popped up in my head? Less than you think but more than that. Goodness, it is hard to control irritability when you are hungry and have to mingle with humans. But that’s what Ramadan is about; self cleanse.

I shall not speak ill of others, I shall not lose my temper, I shall not be mean. Deep breaths.

I went to bed late and woke up at 2:30 am, which sounds awfully early but in fact gave me a very narrow time frame for having Suhoor {aka the time you have your final meal between dawn and dusk prayer (9:25 pm)}. I had a bit of rice with mashed egg which my mother prepared, of course. Mashed egg might sound strange but with a bit of Asian cooking style twist it is quite the dish to feast on. Except in the early morning when you hate fail to like everything and can’t swallow the food.

I also had coco pops cereal with soya cream, which I had to shove down my throat because bad timing, and one date before the time for eating was over. I also had a glass of water. Almost.

I overslept today and woke up at 11:15 am and studied a bit of biology. After that, I am just sitting here doing nothing (of course the prayers are being done!), occasionally reading Jane Eyre which I am really enjoying. My eyes and forehead keeps throbbing very mildly, and my hands and feet are unnecessarily cold. I just don’t feel like studying.

The first day is always the hardest. But it seems to me that I am doing better this year than I did last year. It’s not hard really. I drink at least 2 litres of water. Usually, more than that. But so far I am not thirsty which is great. I am going to try to be productive a bit later on.

Ramadan Mubarak! Hang in there fellas…

7 thoughts on “On the first Day of Ramadan”

  1. I am a Christian but since I am living in a Muslim country I do fast during Ramadan out of respect to my many friends and neighbors and coworkers. As I do with Lent, I began that fast with an old Jewish Nazarite tradition of shaving my head (it isn’t ever very long anyways).

    So basically, I am a Christian celebrating a Muslim holiday by keeping a Jewish tradition. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha….That’s awfully nice of you to do so! The art of coexistence haha. Good luck with the fasting (and shaving your head of course!). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thank you (I believe you mean religion 😉)! The feeling is mutual, regardless of your faith or the absence of it! A lot of my friends happen to be of different beliefs! (Thanks for reading!)☺

      Like

      1. Haha no worries! I have tons of atheist friends! It’s great that you are interested, we can all understand each other and live in harmony! Hahaha. At least in a perfect world!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

