Ten worthy quotes

Quotes are the words of wisdom that were preserved over time and space, or so I imagine them to be. I, for one, can appreciate a quote that makes me think. It can help shift a perspective. Or simply serve as a reminder. So here I am, sharing a few quotes that speak to me.

“Let your kindness be like the rain, that cares not about whom it falls upon…”

-Talib Al Habib

When life seems to be full of hatred and it becomes just that much easier to justify our bitter words and actions.

“I am not interested in being original. I am interested in being true.”

-Agostinho da Silva

When the realisation of our ordinariness hits hard and we do things we don’t believe in to appear different.

“The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.”

-Socrates

When we become arrogant about the little knowledge that we have; Or when we are saddened, realising one can never know everything. We missed most events of the Universe, after all.

“Never be afraid to sit a while and think.”

-Lorraine Hansberry

Sometimes, we just need a little solitude to learn from our mistakes; to smile at the happy memories and mourn the tragic ones. To let the course of life play itself, right before our eyes.

“Sometimes the right thing feels all wrong until it is over and done with.”

-Alice Hoffman

For moments that make us question whether it is worth doing. Is it? One must look at the bigger picture to decide that, I suppose.

“What matters in life is not what happens to you but what you remember and how you remember it.”

-Gabriel García Márquez

It’s a lot about perspective, you see.

“It is easy to love people in memory; the hard thing is to love them when they are there in front of you.”

-John Updike

The most self-explanatory quote.

“Deserve your dream.”

-Octavia Paz

I am not one to be content simply by receiving something. I must work hard and deserve it. But a free chocolate is always welcome.

“I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.”

-Laura Ingalls Wilder

I used to go about telling people how much I wanted to skydive. Lies. I did indeed convince myself, but turns out not one cell in my body can be bothered to go skydiving. I am more about enjoying the view from a parachute or a mountain top. Mostly, reading a good book with a cup of tea at hand.

“Be in the world as if you were a stranger or a traveller along the path.”

-Prophet Muhammad (Sallalahu Alaihi Wasallam)

For those of us that can never feel completely at home. Yet, always content no matter where we are. When we need to break free the chains of expectations and conformity. Or when we are haunted by the unshakable feeling of being strange, always.

Leave a Reply

