Living with a parasite

When I was around six or seven years old, or maybe earlier than that, I had an ocean of lice on my head. It lasted until I was sixteen. It isn’t an uncommon phenomena. Well, at least not in Bangladesh. I once watched a South Park episode attempting to normalise lice infestation.

Lice is a parasite that live on your head and feed on your blood, soul and self-esteem. They are irritating pesky little things that I never regretted killing. I am not sorry, okay?

Once someone in your house gets lice, it is only a matter of time before you get it too. Some people don’t have it. Perhaps it is genetic, I don’t know, but some people just don’t have it. I am pretty sure I dropped a louse on my father’s head just to check whether it would survive or not. It didn’t, thankfully.

Having lice doesn’t only come with physical discomfort. There’s the psychological part of feeling shameful about it. It doesn’t matter whether someone showers everyday, it’s viewed as something nasty to have. Even STD has less stigma surrounding it.

I used to worry about what would happen if my friends knew. It was a natural feeling at that age range. Later on I realised it wasn’t only me who had a lice problem. Turned out a lot of the girls had it. Anyways, it wasn’t easy.

I tried so many things to get rid of lice but rarely succeeded. Your environment matters a lot when it comes to getting rid of lice. Once I settled back in London and left my numerous cousins, friends and relatives that had lice on their head, it all started to work. Even my cousins don’t have it anymore. Maybe some still do, who knows.

I went to my GP about it and she gave me a shampoo which didn’t work. After a few months, I went back but this time to another doctor and she prescribed a shampoo that did work. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what it was called. Regardless, there are many over the counter shampoos for one to try out. The important thing is to ensure the whole house is being treated at once even if they don’t have it. Don’t forget to wash your hair brush or comb and change your sheets and pillowcase during the treatment. Also, remember to clean your hair accessories.

I hope children won’t have to find it shameful if they have lice infestation. It will eventually die out no matter how unlikely it seems. I had so much lice, I never imagined anything would work. Although, I am ashamed to say that I may or may not have shared a few of my lice with my friends who never knew I did it. I was a child with terrible judgement. Don’t do it kids, don’t do it!

7 thoughts on “Living with a parasite”

    1. Did that during the summers for a while without success. As soon as hair got longer, it all came back. Problem wasn’t solved. Besides, not everyone over 9 or 10 wants to shave their heads.

      Like

  1. This was very powerful. Thankfully, I’ve never had lice so I wouldn’t know all the discomfort you were feeling and at such a young age too. I can’t imagine the pain you felt. I do struggle with anxiety everyday though and I just wanted to encourage you you’re not alone and you shouldn’t be ashamed. Here for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kindness. :’) In retrospect, it wasn’t too bad. I am awfully sorry to hear about your anxiety and I hope one day your anxiety will lessen. Take care and don’t give up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so very welcome honestly :’) and thank you so dearly! I sincerely appreciate. A little kindness from a stranger goes a long way. Have a great day everyday 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

